Skip to content

I have arrived.

August 18, 2008

A cross-country drive with more than a few nervous moments navigating my U-Haul truck around narrow turns. An apartment search that saw the good, bad, and ugly but finally ended in satisfaction.

Yes, I am now officially a resident of Las Vegas. Well, North Las Vegas, to be exact. In the end, I signed a lease with the exquisite and luxurious Broadstone Azure apartments.

It should be nice… From my balcony, I have a full view of the mountains and I can see the Las Vegas strip off to my left.

I was able to get a discounted rate, but it still will be more than double what I paid in Stigler. Ah… one of the downsides to moving to a city. One of the pros though is that I am minutes away from several Chipotles. On two different days, I ate there for both lunch and dinner. God bless the burrito bowl.

In fact, I might Chipotle it up right now. When you go without it for seven months after living on it in college, you really start to develop a craving for it.

I will probably make a bunch of posts in the next few days. The drive and the move have really give me some prime material. Blog entries to look out for: a) old people, b) driving a U-Haul through the Hoover Dam, c) nearly watching my car explode (twice), d) riding 50 miles through the desert on an empty tank of gas and a prayer… The list goes on.

Anyway, I am accepting any and all housewarming gifts.

My new address is: 650 East Azure Avenue, Apt. # 2071, North Las Vegas, Nevada 89081.

For those nostalgic people out there, please take notice of my apartment number. In college, for three consecutive years, I lived in Apt. # 207. I think it’s a good sign of things to come…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Missey permalink
    August 18, 2008 7:11 pm

    good to know you made it maybe you’ll stay for more than a few months this time, doubtful though

  2. August 21, 2008 10:40 am

    Know a guy who lives out there & see him several times a year at conferences.

    He will only fly in & out of Vegas on Southwestern.

    Never been to LV, but if I ever visit I want to hit the pawn shops.

  3. Old faithful permalink
    August 23, 2008 8:44 am

    I really do need your email address so I can send you some funny emails. I’ll try to keep them clean! Pretty please. Miss you kiddo.

  4. September 7, 2008 11:34 pm

    vegas baby? surely there is something exciting going on that you can update us on. let’s hear it.

  5. KBird permalink
    September 16, 2008 11:31 am

    I was also excited when Chipotle came to Utah and equally as frustrated when I moved to New York and found that burritos where $2 more in the NYC than in Salt Lake.

    If you are ever back near New York, I’m living in Astoria Queens. It would be great to see someone from the old clan again.

  6. O.S Borboa permalink
    September 18, 2008 12:42 am

    You lied. Where is the plethora of new posts?

    Las Vegas screws people up.

  7. Matt Mayo permalink
    October 6, 2008 11:09 pm

    Nice to hear that things are OK for you there! I miss the controversial dimension that once existed in the paper! I hope to hear some posts about the political life, and the lifestyle there! Still being a rural OK resident, you probably understand the lack of funds to send a housewarming gift, but I can give you this cool quote I heard the other day. It still makes me ponder…”Money can’t buy life” Bob Marley’s last words to Ziggy. I guess the older I get the more this makes sense!
    Peace, Love & Chipotles

Leave a Reply

