Skip to content

A trip down memory lane

May 22, 2008

I just discovered that my former principal of grammar school has checked out the blog. That triggered a flashback for me, so without further ado, I present to you some of the fine moments of my experience at St. Stephen School in Kearny, NJ.

Pre-K: The fingerpainting. It was clear from an early age that I would not become an artist. Also, the little-kid bathrooms. Finally, a room that didn’t seem ginormous.

Kindergarten: I don’t remember much from class, but I do remember the great, late Mrs. Higgins, our teacher. A cheerful, round woman who loved her kids, I had the unfortunate occurence of elbowing her in the stomach at church when she grabbed my shoulder from behind. I had thought that it was one of my obnoxious older brothers, so I went in for the kill. My bad, Mrs. Higgins. She was always a tough lady though. She barely grimaced at the time.

First Grade: I remember we used to have foot races after lunch. My speed was unmatched.

Second grade: The beginning of my obsession with The Boxcar Children.

Third Grade: I remember I got detention for something — I was always a problem child — and I sprinted all the way home so I could get home before my parents got home so they wouldn’t find out. Actually, looking back, I’m surprised they released me on my own. Do schools still do that?

Fourth Grade: A lot of connect four. Once again, I dominated. In fact, that may have been my true calling.

Fifth grade: Some paratrooper game on the computer. Good times…

Sixth grade: I think that might have been the year we rebuilt Rome as a class. Ryan G. and I (well, mostly Ryan) recreated the Roman Road to perfection. My cousin Burlick and his clan tried to build the original Colosseum out of sugar cubes but their time management was so bad that they only wound up making a fairly realistic version of the current Colosseum — complete with gaping holes.

Seventh grade: I remember one moment where Mrs. Lott was super mad at the class for something. But I was daydreaming and wondering if I could, on command, wink with both of my eyes. So I began idly practicing as she admonished the group, until Mrs. Lott incredulously screamed, “Mr. Murphy, are you winking at me?!?” Even with her anger, I think she was a bit amused.

Eighth grade: Dodge ball in gym class. These are the moments that prepare you for high school.

* * * * *

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2008 8:26 pm

    Remember kicking my first bully in 2nd grade.

    We were both better off from the experience.

  2. June 6, 2008 10:37 pm

    I love reminiscing, especially since I officially live in the capital of nowhere, USA (and love it).

    I found your blog on the Oklahoma Blog Ring and am hooked.

    Signed,
    Addict

  3. Old faithful permalink
    June 14, 2008 10:20 pm

    Addict and myself are having some serious withdrawals right now, my friend. HOOK US UP!

  4. O.S. Borboa permalink
    June 18, 2008 11:08 pm

    Keep it going! What would Kevin Garnett say to you? http://youtube.com/watch?v=jSmD5oAhTmo

    Too long of a break! New post!

    Give the people what they want!

Leave a Reply

